Posted by: Sarah | January 26, 2011

Can’t Ski. Won’t Ski. We’re Back On The Slopes In Oslo!


Oslo is a great city for a number of reasons – the museums, the surrounding forests, the fjord…oh and the shops.  However nothing beats the accessibility to the ski slopes.  I can’t think of any other capital city in the world where you can find yourself skiing within 20 minutes of the city center. 

It’s quite common to see folks walking around the center of Oslo carrying skis or snowboards. 

Last year Eliot and I took cross-country ski lessons.   On lesson 3, whilst Eliot was alpine skiing in Bulgaria, I managed to go a little too quickly down a hill and catapult myself into getting a ruptured meniscus.  End of skiing for me…until this year!  

We were so lucky to have visitors over the festive period.  Eliot’s brother Paul and wife Claire came over to celebrate the New Year with us and on New Years Eve we took a trip up to Tryvann Winter Park – a ski part 15 mins drive north of Oslo. 

Eliot and Paul are pretty good at alpine skiing so Claire and I had personal instructors to help us out.  Now I know they say you should never have family teach you to drive or play golf but actually, they were both pretty patient. 

We hired the gear and started out on the nursery slope.  I did ask Paul if we were going to get “sticks” to use as stabilisers and he swiftly corrected my terminology to “poles”.  I think it was more than obvious that Claire and I were beginners.  It took about 15 mins to walk 10 yards in those boots!  

To be honest, I found the nursery slope pretty terrifying given the experience I had the year before but all went well.  No falls.  We also introduced Paul and Claire to the Norwegian tradition of pølse, waffles and hot chocolate half way through.  Paul and Claire – it was lovely having you and you’re welcome back here anytime!

Eliot and I have since been back to Tryvann a couple of times.  I think I tried to upgrade to the green slope a little too quickly.  After approx 50 meters I took off the skis and had to dodge the snow boarders whilst I walked back up the hill.  Quite humiliating.  The last time we visited I stuck to the KiddieKlub slope – much safer, until I discovered the button ski lift.  Now that took a while to work out! 

I’ve put some videos below.  In the first one you can’t miss me.  I start about half way through the video and nearly take out two small children on the way down.  If anyone knows of any other “easy” ski slopes around the Oslo area, please let me know.  Would be good to try others!

Responses

  1. Hi Sarah,

    this is toooo funny! I loved reading this blog and taking a look at your baby steps (aka im flug!) down the hill, well done I say! As long as you don’t go down you are good to go, right? So on to the black slopes? Or you might want to try snowboarding next? ;)

    Cheers
    Ingeborg

    • Glad you like it Ingeborg. Started this blog a couple of years ago when we moved to Norway to share some of the experiences and local culture. Eliot wants to try snowboarding – not sure I’m ready to have both feet strapped to a plank of wood just yet. I still quiet enjoy having the freedom to move my legs a little in case I fall :-)

  2. Hi Sarah! Good to see you skiing!! Try out Varingskollen, 30 min north og Oslo – There’s a beginners slope I really would recommend. Try it on an evening with less children to run down:-) .g.

    • Fantastic idea Geir…will try that. I’m sending you an email…lets meet for that coffee that’s about 18 months overdue!

      • Good on you, Sarah! Good on you–not only on the skiing but also on all your great blogs. Makes this Norwegian turned Californian smile and wish that I could be there trying Oslo’s slopes. Enjoy!

      • Oh thanks Brit – really appreciate the comments and glad the blog keeps you connected to your home land. It’s just so much fun all year around – skiing in the winter and cycling in the summer. No excuse not to keep fit I guess.

  3. I was searching on google for information about skiing in oslo and bumped into your blog. It was amazing. I am going there this easter. Do you need a ski pass for beginner’s slope? I had been to Lés 2 Alpes in France and I didn’t need a ski pass to use the Button lift at beginner’s slope. Thanks

    • Hi Faye – thanks for getting in touch! If you’re coming to Oslo you probably want to go to Tryvann which is a bus ride away. They have a few slops for beginners. The ultra beginner slope which is right next to the equipment hiring hut (mainly small children and people like me) is free to use. It’s very short and has a conveyor belt that you stand on to take you to the top. Then there are two green slopes for slightly more experienced beginners – these are the ones with button lifts. They do require a ski pass but not as expensive as the big slopes. I think they cost approx 140NOK (about £14 for half a day). Hope that helps!

      • Thank you so much for your information. I hope Tryvann is still open for skiing at the end of April. My friend who had been to Oslo told me there wasn’t much to see. This is gonna be my first time to Oslo. So,how many days would you recommend me to stay there?

    • Hi Faye – have just come back to Norway and the snow is disappearing so quickly. I’m not sure there will be any left at Tryvann come April. You might have to go a little further into the mountains (like Trysil) if you want to ski. It’s about an hour away.

      • Thank you. Just checked the Tryvann site, end of season is 22nd April. Guess I’ll be able to make it before the snow completely disappear. Just checked the map too. If I took a bus from city, i’ll be arriving at Tommkleiva, right? Is Tommkleiva the ultra beginner spot?

  4. Ok – that’s good to know. Tommkleiva is for the slightly experienced beginner (the one with two green slopes and button lift). You can walk up to the main building from there but I think the bus goes there too. The main Tryvann building is where the ultra beginner slope is with the conveyor belt. It’s also where you can hire equipment. I would say 3 days is good time to spend in Oslo – time enough for you to ski, perhaps visit some museums (viking ship and folk museums are good) and you could take a trip up to Holmenkollen ski jump…that’s pretty impressive.

  5. […] the training took a little bit of a turn for the worse a couple of weeks ago when an old ski injury in my knee decided to come back to life.  After consulting with a physio last Wednesday I came out with two […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

