Posted by: Sarah | February 10, 2011

The White Stuff…It’s Snow Joke


OK – I know I live in Norway and I know that snow is to be expected over the winter months.  I actually love snow – it looks pretty, cosy and makes every scene look spectacular.  But, if the powers up above happen to be reading my blog, I’d like to request that you don’t send any more.  I’ve had enough.

I’ve come to know snow quite well just recently.  We’ve had rather a lot – at least 60 cm in a few days.   Eliot is in Bulgaria skiing with the guys (yes, you read that correctly and no, I don’t understand either – we live in snow – more drinking than skiing I suspect) so I have been Chief Snow Shuffler at Chez Nesøya.  I dig myself out the house in the morning.  I dig myself back in when I get home and if I pop out in the evening I dig myself out again and I normally have to dig myself back in because some “cheat” has nicked my freshly dug out space….like tonight!!!!

Calm…breathe…

What I’ve come to realise is that we don’t just get snow in Norway…we get different TYPES of snow and I’m going to attempt to describe them to you below.  Send me comments if you’ve discovered another variety that perhaps I’ve not come across.

Crunchy Snow:  This is the fresh variety – it’s lovely, like powder and crunches under your feet.  Terrible if you want to create a snowman.  Eliot spent two hours rolling up a ‘head’ last year and it ended up the size of a small pea compared to the body I had built from a heap of snow.  It’s ideal if Crunchy Snow lands on a Saturday in time for a ski or Går på Tur on Sunday.

Wet Snow:  This is damp, heavy and turns to Sludgey Snow pretty quickly.  Great for building a snowman but if you get wet snow with a hard freeze overnight, you get the toughest iced up windscreen you’ll ever experience.  Looks pretty but takes a good 30 mins to scrape.  Unless, like my neighbour, you have a remote control to warm up the car from inside the house so no need for scraping…just driving. 

Old Snow:  Often seen at the side of roads.  Covered in dirt, grit and car fumes/waste.  Doesn’t look great and is a nightmare if you’ve just had the car washed.

Sludgey Snow:  Well trodden and reduced to a pulp, this type of snow is the slip-sliding kind that makes you walk with a Norwegian gait and drive at the speed of a tortoise.  It’s slippery and it’s dangerous.

Evil Ice:  This is the sneaky layer of black ice that lies suspiciously underneath a thin layer of snow.  You can’t see it.  You don’t know it’s there.  It’s just waiting for you to make that wrong move.  Typically found on the back roads that don’t get ploughed so regularly.  It is a runners nightmare…I speak from experience.

The picture on the right shows how much snow we have in our front garden currently.  The wine bottle is in the picture for scale..not an indication as to what this shoveling has led to.

Here are some other tips:

  • Car wash + Heavy freeze = Frozen doors (both my friend Sam and I have proven this fact)
  • Want to save your parking space?  Eliot’s friend has suggested a technique – I need to try it.  When you go out, leave a heap of snow in your parking space.  A passing opportunist will not bother to clear it since they won’t have a shovel.  All you have to do is shovel it out the way when you get back home.  Apparently it works every time.
  • Brush the snow from the driver’s door before opening it otherwise you’ll be driving the car with a damp backside.
Responses

  1. You haven’t mentioned slaps\sørpe\slush. It’s water filled snow. It’s grey, and the worst kind of snow to walk on.

    • Oh yes, I know the kind…the next stage on from Sludgey Snow when the temperature rises and it’s partially melted. Ruins your shoes :-)

  2. Absolutely love it Sarah. It happens in Britain too when it snows and nobody can cope with it, but at least it is intermittent. Loving the wine bottle “for perspective”

    • Thanks Viki – yes, I was searching the house for something I could use so people could see just how much snow there was. Having had Mum over for a few days we had rather a lot of empty wine bottles left over so I figured that was a good prop!

  3. Hello from Ibiza ! Beutifull pictures about snow and the winter in Norway. In Ibiza the spring its here.
    Its cold Oslo in March ?
    Hug

    Maria

    • Hi Maria – Glad you like the snow however, what I would give for warmth and a pool at the moment. March is still a bit cold – at the moment it’s approx -5 so not as severe as some days. We’ve seen -20 before. Good weekend!

  4. If you need to wash your car in the cold, use this on the rubber along the doors:

    http://www.jula.no/silikonstift-135120

    It’s silicone and it doesn’t freeze and you can easily open your doors after you have washed your car!

    The tip is way better than my english! :p

    • Thanks for the tip Stein – never seen this stuff before. That’s just brilliant and a must have in Norway. I guess you get it from Gjerne or a DIY store?

      • I’m guessing Biltema, Clas Ohlson, Jernia etc has it. The one I have is five years old and still make my doors easy to open every winter :)


Leave a Reply

Categories

