Posted by: Sarah | March 27, 2011

3 Weeks To Go Until The London Marathon


I can’t believe that in three weeks time I will be taking part in one of the most popular races in the world – the London Marathon.  I’ve been training over a year for this event (including the Oslo half marathon last September) and quite honestly, I am getting slightly fed up with running now.

Anyway, the training took a little bit of a turn for the worse a couple of weeks ago when an old ski injury in my knee decided to come back to life.  After consulting with a physio last Wednesday I came out with two options:

  • I carry on with my training runs but the chances of me making it to the start line are pretty low
  • I stop running and start walking my training plan.  I might make it to the start line…if I’m careful

This came as a bit of a shock.  Throughout all of my stressed-out breakdowns during long runs I never thought that perhaps an injury might stop me from taking part altogether!  It didn’t even cross my mind!

This little experience has taught me not to take the race so seriously.  Whilst I may have to walk most of the way around I should focus on enjoying the day and knowing that I’m raising money for a great charity – Cardiomyopathy.  A guy that I’ve been chatting to via a “Marathon Runners” LinkedIn Group last night summarised it brilliantly…

So I’ve decided to add a twist.  I work with Social Media as part of my job so I’m going to bring the London Marathon experience to folks who can’t be there via social media – tell you more soon!

The new training plan was put to work yesterday.  Eliot joined me on a 30km walk from our house to Skøyen (near to Oslo) and back again – photos on the right hand side and the trail shown at the bottom.  It took about 5 hours and I can hardly walk today.  I can honestly say that in all my training to date, my legs have never experienced such pain.

What’s even more irritating is that Eliot feels fine.  He even managed a skip and jump up the stairs this morning.  How can that be fair?

If you would like to make a donation to the charity I’m running for (Cardiomyopathy) then you can do so here.

Vodpod videos no longer available.
Leave a Reply

Categories

