Posted by: Sarah | November 23, 2011

The 7 Cookies Of Christmas: A Norwegian Tradition


There’s current a shortage of butter near to where we live.  I kid not – yesterday I went to three different supermarkets (Ultra, Meny & ICA) and all of them had a little message from Tine (the main brand of butter in Norway) saying they’re having a problem with supplying the product.

Why?  Probably because the nation is baking in preparation for Christmas.

It’s tradition in Norway to bake and eat 7 different types of cookies at Christmas in much the same way that we would have a Christmas Cake in the UK.  These days it’s convenient to buy these cookies ready-made from Baker Hansen or United Bakeries but given that I’m at home now waiting for our “baby viking” to arrive, my friend Line challenged me to have a go at baking these traditional delights to keep myself busy.

Over the next few days/weeks I’ll be doing a little festive baking and sharing the experience with you via this blog in case you fancy having a go yourself!  Here’s a quick summary of the seven different cookies I’ll be attempting to bake!

  • Smultringer (Donut Rings)
  • Sandkaker (Sand Cakes)
  • Sirupssnipper (Syrup Snaps)
  • Berlinerkranser (Berlin Wreaths)
  • Goro
  • Krumkaker (Curved Cake)
  • Fattigmann (Poor Man)

I’ll be following the recipes from here http://www.aperitif.no/index.db2?id=6427.  If I’ve got time, I might just pull together a gingerbread house and a Kransekake (picture), which are also very traditional at this time of year.

Responses

  1. Best of luck! I see that you have chosen to go for some of the more difficult ones – I normally stick to the easy ones, and the berlinerkranser – they are a must for me at Christmas :-)

    • Thanks Asta although I’m a bit worried about the difficult ones. I guess you’re referring to the Goro and Krumkaker? I bought the Krumkaker iron the other day. Eliot thought baking biscuits was a great idea thinking it was just about flour and sugar – then I told him about all the equipment needed!

      • Yes, especially the goro and krumkaker – I have never attempted them, but have heard my mother swear in the kitchen when I was a child :-) But I love them though, so if you manage to make them they are definitely worth it!

  2. Can you send or post the recipe for krumkraker cookies? Thanks Cathy M.


Leave a Reply

Categories

