Posted by: Sarah | December 15, 2011

Goro Kake: Norwegian Christmas Cookie Challenge 5


It’s taken me a while to write-up my Norwegian Christmas Cookie Challenges because of Lizzie Rose’s arrival into the world.  Most of the cookies were finished before she arrived but I just needed to find a spare few minutes to write them up – needless to say she’s sleeping at the moment :-)

This is the second expensive Norwegian Christmas Cookie because again, you need to buy a special Goro Iron to make them properly.  Goro are pressed, thin biscuits in flavored with cardamom – a taste you will find used a lot in Norway especially in Bollers.  They are a cross between a cracker, a cookie, and a waffle.  The elaborate pattern gives the Goro its distinctive look and these are created using the irons.  Some irons still exist from the 17th century, imprinted by blacksmiths with customized designs for families who could afford the expensive butter, cream and in some cases cognac.

Recipe:  Makes approx 25 sheets of Goro (3 cookies per sheet)

  • 1 Egg
  • 1 3/4 dl of Whipping Cream
  • 125g Sugar
  • 500g Plain Flour
  • 1 Teaspoon Cardamom
  • 1 Teaspoon Vanilla Sugar
  • 325g Butter

Method:

  1. Crumble together the butter with the dry ingredients including the flour, cardamom, sugar and vanilla sugar.  Hold a little flour back for rolling.
  2. Mix together the whipping cream, egg and add a little cognac if you’re feeling festive to make a basic eggnog mix
  3. Add that to the dry ingredients, mix together and place the dough in the fridge to cool for at least 2 hours.  I left it overnight.
  4. Roll the dough out as thin as possible and cut dough sheets the size of your Goro Iron
  5. Heat up the Goro Iron and place a sheet into it when hot.  Bake it until light golden and crisp
  6. Place onto a wire rack and when cool, split them up into individual cookies
  7. Keep in an air tight box or in the freezer

Sarah’s Tips:

  • It’s quicker to cut a template out of cardboard that fits the size of your Goro Iron – that way you can roll out the dough and just cut around the template pretty quickly
  • I found the dough very sticky when I took it out of the fridge and needed to add much more flour than the recipe stated which made the dough elastic and difficult to handle.  That could be because I was a little generous with the cognac!
  • I found it easier to cut the three cookies when they were slightly warm since when they’re cooled they go quite brittle
Responses

  1. Awesome! When I was cleaning a kitchen drawer last month, I found Mom’s Goro Iron. As I recall, she never used it, so I had no idea of how to use it or what the finished product should look like either. Thanks for the post–especially the pictures and the clear directions. I look forward to making some Goros for Christmas! I really do appreciate your blog and I am very glad that you found time to write while your new baby was sleeping. Best Wishes!

  2. Love this! Although I am very jealous! I see that you have an electric Goro Iron…I have been looking for one for ages in the States and can’t find them….My grandmother made Goro and I have wanted to make them for years!

    • Hi Cary – I bought my Goro Iron from Expert (http://www.expert.no/product/product.aspx?identifier=100571) – perhaps you can contact them and see if they can send you one overseas!

    • Hello, I too am really interested in an electric Goro Iron. My mother & I made these favorites every year, but the stove tops of today are not stovetop friendly. HELP – were you ever able to connect with the proper supplier? Tusen Takk. Glo


Leave a Reply

Categories

