Posted by: Sarah | October 1, 2010

“Sheep In Cabbage” Day – Cooking Lesson


Last year I wrote a post about “The National Dish Of Norway” which is called Fårikål – or “Sheep In Cabbage”.  Anyway, yesterday was Fårikålfest day again in Norway so  I decided to go one step further this year and actually cook the dish and video it at the same time.  Yes, my first ever video blog post! 

Although I’ve tasted Fårikål once at work I have never cooked it myself so having done so, here are some tips:

  • Add plenty of salt and pepper – gives it flavour
  • Don’t forget to keep topping up the water during the 2-3 hours of stewing
  • Buy plenty of meat and cabbage, cook up the whole lot and save it.  It keeps for a few days in the fridge and tastes great the day after!

 Thanks to NordicNibber.com for the reminder that it was indeed Fårikål day yesterday.  Enjoy!

The Cooking Process:

The Result:


Responses

  1. Hi Sarah,

    It looks yummy and I’m making it for tonight’s dinner. I forgot to make it yesterday.

    The recipe I’m following uses sprinkles of flour in between layers and it said its because it helps make a sauce with the peppercorns and water mix. I like your recipe without the flour. If I hadn’t already started preparation I might’ve left the flour out.

    I hope you’ll make some more videos :)

    God helg!

    Karen

    • Hi Karen
      I did see somewhere that you could add flour but didn’t realise it was between the layers. Makes sense though…I think it would be nicer with a thicker juice. Good luck with it and god helg også
      Sarah

  2. Love the video blog! Norway’s answer to Delia. The fårikål looks delicious.

    • So glad you liked it…I was so surprised how delicious it tasted. I think we’ll be making it again this weekend although Eliot wants to put some extra touches to it like onions, garlic etc. Who knows what we’ll end up with!

  3. Hi Sarah

    Good job on the video, made me drool – just a little..
    Had my first (very large) serve of fårikål just under a month ago whilst visting Oslo- now I get why my friend was going on about how he was breaking tradition for me! But it was officially fall, so.. we weren’t far off. Cheers for bringing back a very brilliant recent memory.

    The flour between the layers does give the jus a little more body. Apparently variations to the traditional can be considered “sacrilege” – that said, using homemade lamb stock in place of water makes a world of difference :)

    • So glad you got to try fårikål – I have to say that I was quite surprised that something to taste so good with so few ingrediants. I would prefer less bones and therefore less risk of breaking my jaw when eating the dish but other than that, it was all good. Eliot made it again on Sunday adding carrots, onions, garlic, herbs etc. I told him that he was desecrating the national dish of Norway but he wasn’t having any of it. Actually it tasted quite good but I’m not sure you could call it fårikål.


Leave a comment

Categories