Posted by: Sarah | November 26, 2011

Berlinerkranser: Norwegian Christmas Cookie Challenge 2


Time for the second cookie challenge.  These are a little like shortbread.  If you buy a box of biscuits for Christmas you’re pretty sure to find these Berlinerkranser (Berliner Wreaths) in the box.  They’re very buttery and taste very nice.  They do end up looking very home-made though.

Recipe:

  • 2 Egg yolks – hard-boiled
  • 2 Egg yolks – raw
  • 125g Sugar
  • 250g Butter
  • 300g Flour
  • Egg White & Pearl Sugar for decoration

Method:

  1. Mix together the hard-boiled and raw egg yolks
  2. Add the sugar and whisk well
  3. Mix in the flour and softened butter alternately until it becomes a smooth dough
  4. Wrap in cling film and pop in the fridge for at least an hour
  5. Roll the dough out into thin sausages about 10 cm in length
  6. Form them into wreaths and place onto a baking sheet
  7. Brush with egg white and sprinkle pearl sugar on them
  8. Bake them at 180 degrees for 10-12 minutes or until golden
  9. Cool on a wire rack and place into an air-tight box

Sarah’s Tips:

  • It’s a pretty straight forward recipe to follow – my only top tip would be to make sure you space them out on the baking tray.  They seem to spread and expand in the oven so unless you want one massive Berliner cookie, leave approx 5cm between each one.

Responses

  1. Thanks for your detailed description of how to make these. It was a family tradition to make these, but since my mom passed away many years ago, I have not tried to make them….The recipe that I had was very short and lacked important directions such as chilling the dough before rolling….Thanks for helping me. Merry Christmas!

    • No problem Anna – I’m learning as I go on these cookies so any helpful tips you may have please share them! Merry Xmas to you too!

  2. we had these for years at my G-ma’s. Everytime I made them they ran. I found out the trick to these. Everthing must be icy cold. cookie sheets, dough, etc. and use only medium size eggs. large has too much liquid. chill dough well , take out only a small amount of dough at a time. before placing them in the oven , put the cookies and cookie sheet in the refrigerator to get cold. then place in the hot oven and bake. ( the dough is such a delicate buttery dough, if not cold, they will run before they have time to cook. good luck these are my favorite cookies11

    • Hi Margy – great to hear your story and thanks for the tip on keeping everything cool. Totally agree because the more you work with the dough the more sticky it becomes too so it’s near impossibly to create the little wreath shape. I have to admit that these are possibly my favourite too.

  3. We use a cookie press to form the cookie. My 31 yr old son learned to make them this year. The baton has been passed!

    • Ah – now that’s a good tip! I didn’t know you could get a template press for Berlinerkranser.


Leave a comment

Categories